20 Under 40

20 Under 40

What is 20 Under 40?

SpineLine debuted its 20 Under 40 campaign in 2018 to showcase NASS’ bright, young physicians under the age of 40. The SpineLine Committee selects the most deserving individuals based on accomplishments to date, community service and philosophy of care. Here are the winners, including brief articles on each that previously appeared in issues of SpineLine.

2019 Award Recipients

Akhil Chhatre, MD
Christopher R. Cook, DO
Andrew Fabiano, MD
Norah A. Foster, MD
David Gendelberg, MD
Matthew Goodwin, MD, PhD
Kush K. Goyal, MD
Jeffrey L. Gum, MD
Isaac O. Karikari, MD
Jonathan S. Kirschner, MD
Karthik Madhavan, MD
Ankit Mehta, MD
Richard Menger, MD
Brian Neuman, MD
Martin Quirno, MD
Alexander E. Ropper, MD
Grant Shifflett, MD
Gbolabo Sokunbi, MD
Anand Veeravagu, MD
Corinna Zygourakis, MD

2018 Award Recipients

Jared Ament, MD

Founded Innovative Spine Technology Company

Brett Braly, MD

From Patient to Physician – Braly Gives Back

David Bumpass, MD

Finds Rewarding Career in Pediatric Spine Care

Berdale Colorado, DO

Born to Family of Pastors, Colorado Felt Call to Medicine

Chad Craig, MD, MBA

Poor Surgical Outcomes on Family Members Leads Craig to Medicine

Areena D’Souza, MBBS, MS

First Fellowship Trained Female Spine Surgeon from India

Sandeep Nand Gidvani, MD

Involved in Community, Schools, NASS

Christina Goldstein, MD

Has Passion for Mentoring

Gregory Gullung, MD

Second Generation Physician Chooses Spine over Sports Medicine

Ram Haddas, PhD, MSc, MEng

A Leader in Biomechanics & His Community

Clifford Houseman, DO

Helped Build Hospital’s Neurosurgery Division from Scratch

Samuel Joseph, MD

Owns Private Practice, Is NFL Team Spine Surgeon

John Koerner, MD

Helping Develop Curriculum for New Med School

Tobias Mattei, MD

Family Tragedy Leads Mattei into Medicine

Emmanuel Menga, MD

Medicine a Lifelong Passion

Chukwuka Okafor, MD

Runs Anti-Bullying 5K in His Florida Community

Kris Radcliff, MD

Prolific Researcher, Educator and Dedicated Family Man

Andrew Schoenfeld, MD

It Was the Spine that Brought Me to Medicine

LCDR Scott Wagner, MD

Military Veteran is a Man of Varied Interests

Elizabeth Yu, MD

Connects Research and Teaching with Exemplary Patient Care

Past Award Winners:

Year Award Winner
2017 David Selby
William Mitchell, MD 
2017 Leon Wiltse K. Daniel Riew, MD
2017  Henry Farfan S. Tim Yoon, MD, PhD 
2017  NASS Spine Advocacy David A Wong, MD, MCs, FRCS 
2016 David Selby Jim Reynolds, MD
2016 Leon Wiltse Keith Bridwell, MD
2016 Henry Farfan Makarand V. Risbud, PhD
2016 NASS Spine Advocacy Charles A. Mick, MD
2015 David Selby Donna M. Lahey, RNFA
2015 Leon Wiltse Frank J. Eismont, MD
2015 Henry Farfan James C. Iatridis, PhD
2015 Past President David A. Wong, MD, MSc, FRCS
2015 NASS Spine Advocacy Dr. Jeffrey J. Wise, MD
2014 David Selby Raj D. Rao, MD
2014 Leon Wiltse Ziya Gokaslan, MD, FACS, FAANS
2014 Henry Farfan Michael H. Heggeness, MD, PhD
2013 David Selby Marjorie Eskay-Auerbach, MD, JD
2013 Leon Wiltse Lawrence G. Lenke, MD
2013 Henry Farfan Michael G. Fehlings, MD, PhD
2012 David Selby Thomas Faciszewski, MD
2012 Leon Wiltse Marcel F. Dvorak, MD
2012 Henry Farfan Helen Gruber, PhD
2011 David Selby Joel Press, MD
2011 Leon Wiltse Kiyoshi Kaneda, MD
2011 Henry Farfan Gunnar Andersson, MD, PhD
2010 David Selby Serena S. Hu, MD
2010 Leon Wiltse Alexander R. Vaccaro, MD
2010 Henry Farfan Narayan Yoganandan, PhD
2009 David Selby Stanley A. Herring, MD 
2009 Leon Wiltse Michael G. Fehlings, MD, PhD, FRCSC
2009 Henry Farfan Avinash Patwardhan, PhD
2008 David Selby David A. Wong, MD
2008 Leon Wiltse Eugene Carragee, MD
2008 Henry Farfan Kenneth M. C. Cheung, MD
2007 David Selby Edward C. Benzel, MD
2007 Leon Wiltse Arthur D. Steffee, MD
2007 Henry Farfan James D. Kang, MD
2006 David Selby Hansen Yuan, MD
2006 Leon Wiltse Henry Bohlman, MD
2006 Henry Farfan Vijay Goel, PhD
2005 David Selby Scott Halderman, MD
2005 Leon Wiltse Harry Herkowitz, MD
2005 Henry Farfan Howard An, MD
2004 David Selby Tom Mayer, MD
2004 Leon Wiltse Edward C. Benzel, MD
2004 Henry Farfan James Weinstein, MD
2003 David Selby Steven Garfin, MD
2003 Leon Wiltse Scott Boden, MD
2003 Henry Farfan Bryan Cunningham, MSc
2002 David Selby Bruce Fredrickson, MD
2002 Leon Wiltse John Kostuik, MD
2002 Henry Farfan F. Todd Wetzel, MD
2001 David Selby Richard Guyer, MD
2001 Leon Wiltse John McCulloch, MD
2001 Henry Farfan Robert Gatchel, PhD
2000 David Selby David Fardon, MD
2000 Leon Wiltse Steve Garfin, MD
2000 Henry Farfan Hamilton Hall, MD
1999 David Selby Casey Lee, MD
1999 Leon Wiltse Thomas S. Whitecloud III, MD
1999 Henry Farfan Vert Mooney, MD
1998 David Selby J. Walt Simmons, Jr., MD
1998 Leon Wiltse Hansen Yuan, MD
1998 Henry Farfan Manohar Panjabi, PhD
1997 David Selby J. Elmer Nix, MD
1997 Leon Wiltse Charles D. Ray, MD
1997 Henry Farfan Tom G. Mayer, MD
1996 David Selby John P. Kostuik, MD
1996 Leon Wiltse Thomas E. Whitesides, Jr., MD
1996 Henry Farfan William C. Hutton, DSc
1991 David Selby W. H. Kirkaldy-Willis, MD

David Selby
David Selby