NASS Insider

January 16, 2024

2023 Henry Farfan Award Winner Feature: Jamie Baisden, MD FACS, FAANS

Each year, the North American Spine Society (NASS) recognizes exceptional contributions to the field and the Society through its annual Recognition Awards.

In 2023, Jamie Baisden, MD, FACS, FAANS was awarded the Henry Farfan Award for outstanding contributions in spine related basic science research.

Nominations for 2024 Recognition Awards are now open at and will be accepted until March 31, 2024. Award winners are reviewed by the NASS Governance Committee and approved by the Board of Directors. 2024 awards will be presented at the 2024 NASS Annual Meeting, September 25-28, 2024 in Chicago, IL.

Dr. Baisden is a 28-Year NASS Member

She has made extensive and under-recognized contributions to the science of spine care, the teaching of spine care, and the management of spine care. She has served on multiple NASS committees over many years, and participated in the important work of developing several NASS Guidelines.

"Throughout the past decade, my collaboration with Dr. Baisden across various NASS committees has consistently left me in awe of her profound grasp of both the clinical and fundamental scientific dimensions of managing intricate spinal disorders," said Dr. Mitchell Reiter, NASS Treasurer. "Her unwavering dedication has significantly contributed to NASS in crafting invaluable guidelines and comprehensive coverage recommendations. Furthermore, her poised and composed demeanor has been a pivotal cornerstone in upholding NASS’s commitment to professionalism and ethical standards."

Dr. Baisden is professor of neurosurgery at the Medical College of Wisconsin. She has over 100 publications to her credit and has also participated in clinical guideline development within the North American Spine Society. As one of NASS’ top volunteers she has been involved in numerous other NASS activities.

NASS has enabled her professional development since she first started going to the Annual Meeting as a resident. She has participated in multiple NASS committees focusing particularly on the development of Evidence-Based Guidelines, Coverage Recommendations, and in ethics and professionalism.

Nominated by: Karin Swartz, MD; and Gregory Whitcomb, DC